Sometimes, a customer might try to get your attention to a particular issue by contacting you through separate channels. Sometimes, the same issue might be reported by different people in the team, or someone might accidentally open a new ticket instead of following up with an existing one. To avoid conflicts, you can merge all the tickets together and keep the communication streamlined.


The following things happen when you merge two or more tickets together in Freshdesk:

  • One of the tickets becomes the primary ticket (you get to choose). The others become secondary. 
  • The entire conversations from all the secondary tickets are moved into the primary ticket. 
  • All the secondary tickets are closed. 
  • All messages are sorted chronologically. 
  • A note is added to each of the tickets with a link to the primary ticket. 
  • If the note is public, an email notification might be sent to the requesters about the merged tickets. 


How to merge two or more tickets?

  • Login to your support portal.
  • Open the Tickets tab. 
  • Select the tickets you want to merge from the list by using the checkboxes.
  • Click on the Merge button on the navigation pane.
  • In the dialog box that pops up, choose which ticket you want to be the primary ticket by clicking on it. A tick mark appears next to it confirming that it has been done.
  • If you'd like to remove any tickets from the merge, you can do so by clicking on the red minus icon next to them from the list. You cannot remove a ticket from the merge when it has been marked as primary. 
  • Similarly, you can use the search box on the right side to lookup tickets by either Requester name, ID or Description, and add them to the list. 
  • When you are ready to proceed, click on the Continue button. 
  • When tickets are merged together, a note is added to the primary and secondary tickets. You can edit the content in each of them if necessary.



  • Finally, click on the Merge button to finish merging the tickets together. 
Similar to this, you could also open up each ticket from your helpdesk and use the Merge function from the navigation bar.

Un-merge tickets - A workaround

To unmerge tickets that were merged unnecessarily or by mistake, you just have to reopen the secondary tickets (change status from 'Closed' to 'Open') and delete the 'Merged' notes from the primary and secondary tickets.